Oiling unglazed pots

As an amateur carpenter I use a lot of oils, paints, laquers, etc.
Long ago I got my hands on Tung oil, food grade, nontoxic to humans and animals.
Was wondering if anyone has a clue if it’s nontoxic to plants also, as I would like to use it on some unglazed pots that I have.
It darkens the color a bit and it’s an oil that dries completly, leaving a lowkey shine, all in all it gives a great look to anything you use it on.
Thanks.

1 Like

Maybe, but…
Tung oil, when ‘dried’, leaves a polymeric coating. Great to waterproof and make wood shine, which is porous.
My concern is, when used on unglazed pots, it will leave a buildup of a hard shiny coating. Cannot be removed easily. Paint… on porous ceramics.
Mineral oil. Wipe on, wipe off. Baby oil is mineral oil…
( As opposed to 'Wax on, wax off…):wink:
However, this might be related to the highly sought after ‘aging of pot’ coating? Anybody have insights?

3 Likes

I can always give it a burn to make it go away, if I want to clean the pot of it, I guess.
Aging of pot coating? Care to expand?

1 Like

There is this ‘idea’ of antique pots having a ‘age to them’ worn(?) coating. Not calcium buildup. Don’t clean off the age…
I have several (moderately) old pots. They do look old. I clean / wash them when repotting.
Antique pots are “required” in the Japanese KokofuTen display…
Good question for Ryan…

3 Likes

Ah, got it. Thanks.
Can’t say I care much about the how antique my pots look, what I am after is a nice look to them. And tung is eye candy on… anything :slight_smile:

1 Like

I just use olive oil because it’s pretty much always in my kitchen. Use it for tools and pots.

3 Likes

Olive oil, like most oils, tends to go rancid and that makes it a good medium for bacteria. Might be a problem.

2 Likes

I haven’t felt the need to add an extra task to my bonsai calendar, it’s busy enough! A wash and clean at repotting time is all they get.

2 Likes