Faux stone creation methods

Dear Mirai family,

I am looking into making rock plantings and would like some tips on making a vertical stone, like Jan Culeck. i hear he uses plastic composite to make his stones. Any tips/ methods of making stone would be wonderful. thank you.

2 Likes

I have no actual experience with this, but from having seen a few videos over the years and done a moderate amount of fiberglass and carbon fiber composite work I thought I would comment to see if that prompted someone with experience.

Most seem to be made by creating a basic structure from wire mesh. If the structure is large, it may have some larger diameter steel wire to provide more support. Metal window screen is fairly easy to deform and can be folded/bent to near final shape with minimal cutting. However, it is not very strong and will probably require additional support. I would suggest 8 wire per inch (3 per cm) wire mesh as a stronger alternative that is reasonable to work.

I am guessing that most are covered with polymer concrete - Polymer concrete - Wikipedia although the cheaper method is to use standard concrete mortar. The polymer concrete is much stronger than standard mortar. You will want a version designed for small repairs since the aggregate will be sand and not larger pebbles.

I would start with a small, relatively flat project. Make sure to wear appropriate personal protective equipment (PPE). Disposable gloves (I prefer nitrile) and safety glasses are the minimum - have extra gloves handy. Apron or old clothes are very useful since you will undoubtably get some on you. I suggest a chemical respirator for the urea formaldehyde and polyester based versions - I have not found it necessary for epoxy based with reasonable ventilation.

Good luck

3 Likes