What next in Mugo design?

I’m relatively new to bonsai, starting last May, and over the summer I found a Mugo in a nursery with fantastic trunk movement and nebari, but I’m not sure quite where to go from here in terms of branch selection and design. Right now the branch structure resembles a warehouse push broom, and I’m wondering how to improve on the design. The forum will only let me upload one photo, so I don’t have any picture of other angles, but here’s the front:

1 Like

I’m also wondering what the best time of year would be to do significant restyling for Mugo pines :slight_smile:

Found an article from Harry Harrington that warns not to remove too much foliage and to work slowly to keep the pine vigorous and healthy.
The picture looks healthy! If you repotted this year, you may want to allow it to get acclimated to its new substrate and location. Ryan addresses the care of Mugo in the stream Mugo Pine Advancement. Mugo Pine Advancement | Bonsai Mirai Live Your tree is in early development. Cleaning out old dead needles and cleaning out bottom growth and crotch growth could allow more air movement and light to the interior. Too much foliage removal may compromise the health of the plant. If obvious branches come from groups of three or more, some small amount of removal to slowly reduce the number of branches. Watch Ryan’s technique to clean and remove bottom growth and crotch growth. DO NOT REMOVE ALL OLD NEEDLES! It will starve the tree. Watch the stream before you do anything. Nice find! Hope to see more photos as this develops. The branches Ryan is working on will develop on your tree with time. The tree in the stream was grown in the field and is at least 6 years old.

2 Likes