Season guide and the work it brings

Hi guys,
I am new in this field, about a year now.
I cannot find my arms and legs regarding doing what on each season …
would love to have a calendar with the seasons and the work it bring for each species
do you think we can create one on this thread ? or do you have a link for existing one.

thank you all !

3 Likes

Hey Atlas, have you looked at the season specific videos yet? Spring Fundamentals, Growth Perpetuation, etc. I’m with you experience-wise and find myself re-watching those quite a bit.

5 Likes

Hi Carl
Yes I did watched this videos, in general I understood that spring is for reppoting and furteliz
But I am sure this is not go for all trees

I guess I am looking for something more simple and structural at least for the beginning…

Hope someone will come with an answer

@Atlas

Here are some links to the information you requested.
These should provide you with some general guidance, however, I would warn you about blindly following a calendar just because it’s printed and says “Do this now.”
So many aspects of bonsai is about understanding the “what, why, and when” certain procedures can be done. This also means you should know YOUR trees, just because the calendar says to fertilize heavily in spring doesn’t mean you should. Maybe you want refinement and not obnoxious growth in the spring. In that case, mild fertilizing or even none at all until after spring. Even for instance, you have a JBP and you need it to grow. Your calendar might say “hold fertilizer, candle prune and select shoots in fall.” If you know your tree is weak or you want growth or anticipate repotting soon. It may be BETTER to build STRENGTH and GROW your tree without cutting candles and branches, as well as, fertilize and water appropriately. You have to listen to your trees and know what your goal is for tree X Y Z, regardless of the calendar. In any event, hope these links are helpful. Good luck with your bonsai!

Bonsai Empire Calendar