Kohai seeks winterizing advise from senpais

Hello,

I’m a total noob. I’m so new my only goal is to keep my trees (ficus, wisteria, azaleas, olive, pomegranate, juniper) for one year. Next challange? Winter. Three beginner questions.

First, I ordered my trees from most sensitive to least sensitive. But I’m hoping someone can check me homework just to verify I’m thinking about this correctly.

Second, I’m in 8b so when I say winterize I think I pretty much mean bringing them inside (see third question for more). The ficus is the most sensitive and will probably need the most time inside and needs to be brought in when the temperatures dip below 40. From my reading, the wisteria and azaleas may also need to be brought in at the same time (perhaps mid 30’s?). The rest can probably stay outside unless it drops below freezing. Is this a conservative approach.

Lastly, I assume I’ll have to use grow lights as some may be indoors for an extended period of time (2-3 months). I don’t have a good south facing window that gets a lot of soon much less one that would accommodate that many trees. So, I think I’m going to need grow lights. What am I looking for in grow lights (i.e., specs)?

Bonus question, I have cats. Correction. My wife has cats. What works in terms of keeping them away.

Sorry for all the questions. And I know there straightforward type questions. I’ve done some homework but hoping for guidance for those who are more experienced. I would appreciate any guidance you can provide me. My trees will be grateful that you helped me get them through their first year with me,