I need help with my citrus tree

Hi all,
I started this citrus from seed about 10 years ago, and put into this container in early spring of 2022.
I know it needs a lot more development and tweaking, and that’s where I need help.
I know it needs repotting because it is sitting too high but not sure if it’s to soon after the last repotting.
The third picture is the current front, not sure if there is another possibility. Also not sure how to redefine the silhouette , how far back is it safe to prune to improve ramification and when is the best time to do it.
Also not sure what is the best potting mixture.
I welcome and appreciate any and all feed back, critique and advice.
Thank you,
Laura

3 Likes

I have no experience with citrus as bonsai, but here are a couple of comments anyway.

• I would treat as a broadleafed evergreen or perhaps a deciduous tree. Use an akadama heavy soil and repot every 2-3 years.
  • The tree is still in development so the added root mass due to the higher potting is probably good.
  • I think I like your first picture as the front, particularly if the left branches are wired down a bit, Regardless of the front, I think the branches could use a little wire to give more of an out and up movement than the current up and out. Not too flat, but get some spread.
1 Like

Hi Marty,
I like your suggestion on the mostly akadama mix repot. I put it into this current pot directly from an organic soil and other than just reducing the root ball from the bottom I didn’t replace much of its original soil. So I think a repot this spring might be in order.

Your suggestion on the front is interesting. I didn’t consider the first picture as the front because of the knot hole on the trunk. Do you see it as a feature rather than a flaw? Also the two branches on the left face back and are too rigid to bend back toward the viewer.