How to get lots of practice?

I’m a complete beginner. I bought a few trees + couple bonsais to work on, but as I’m watching the videos (currently on wiring) I’m asking myself how I’m going to get enough practice? Ryan mentions having wired 1000’s of trees! Where do I start? It seems like it would be good to get a cheap source of practice branches, but I don’t have a good idea of where to get them. Any ideas? I’m in the UK, if that matters.

If you just want to practice wiring, grabbing some recently pruned branches is a good place to start. Clamp them to a bench like Ryan does in the wiring fundamentals videos and practice practice practice! These can be branches from bonsai or even branches from landscape trees.

1 Like

The trees I have right now are too small though. :confused: And I’m just starting out, so I don’t have big trees to get cuttings from.

I’m thinking of buying a few like Common Juniper (Juniperus communis) tree 40-60cm cell grown | eBay to practice on. After the first, they’re only £3 each. Think that could work?

Those cell grown trees look to be to young to provide much meaningful practice. Like @nmhansen said…If you want to practice wiring you don’t need bonsai trees. You need branches and wire. Spring is a time to be on the lookout for what others are throwing out. Hedges and bushes make for bonsai as well provide lots of branches to practice on, as do cut tree limbs even if they have no hope of remaining alive. Bonus: if they are in the bin or on the curb then they are free! One man’s trash is another man’s bonsai gold!

1 Like