A beginner's Quest of knowledge

Hey guys, absolute beginner here.
I apologize beforehand, just in case I will annoy anyone with my questions.

I watched Ryan’s videos a lot lately and I am trying to soak up all the information I can get, but some extremely basic knowledge is still missing from my mind, so I wanted to ask here.

1. I have a tree without any topdressing and whenever I am watering it, the soil is flushing away with the stream. I am already using very very low pressure and very slow movements - no help. How can I avoid it, since I read that topdressing will take months/even a year to form.

2. There are so many trees with so many different rules. Some species also have multiple differences in treatment it appears. Also I heard Ryan discuss slightly different timings in seasonal treatments like repotting and wiring?! I am wishing for a collected list or maybe a chart, that would help me to understand what each tree would need and when the best timing is for each of them. Could you point me to some source of kind for that?

3. Ryan doesnt seem to talk about seeding much, but I am interested in the process.
    When should I cut it for the first time? Can I move and “wire” a tree even in the first months? I was thinking about getting some light yarn and gently hold the baby plant down to make more turns?

4. Watering. I watched the 3min clip about watering from mira. It is insanely beautiful, but I feel very uneducated when it comes to watering my own trees. I mostly put my finger in the soil and try to guess if it is moist or rather dry. Should I water always always?
    I guess the water could run out of the container. Can I overwater my trees? Some users said they are watering their trees 2-3 times per day, but my trees stay very moist for days and I am a bit concerned about that.

Thanks for taking the time to read all that.
Happy growing.
Phil

3 Likes

Hi Phil,
Welcome to the Bonsai Mirai community and to the fascinating world of little trees.