Understanding watering needs of yamadori

I’ve been doing bonsai for 3 years but this is my first year with collected trees. I followed Ryan’s guidance for leaving native soil and some portion of the roots untouched. All of them (5 total) went into various types of grow boxes based on size and weight. I used DE, lava and perlite as the soil added around the native soil. I applied the topdressing as prescribed (50/50 collected moss with sphagnum).
I’m struggling to understand when to water, the new soil and topdressing will get bone dry if I wait until the native soil (mainly clay) ever gets dry. Which doesn’t seem like an environment that would facilitate roots growing into the new soil. But on the flip side, I don’t want to drown the roots in the native soil before they have a chance to grow into the new soil. Ryan’s mentioned before that the capillary action should pull water into the new soil, but that doesn’t appear to be happening.
How should I manage this situation? Should I be focused more on the new soil instead of the native soil?

I’m just curious, what species are these trees?

Its a wide range and all having the same problem really. It’s a Japanese maple, Doug-fir and a juniperus virginiana.

Yea, I was wondering if any were deciduous. In my opinion it’s always far better to bare root most deciduous trees. So for the Japanese maple I would have washed out all of the field soil with a hose. Keeping field soil on deciduous collected material seems to create problems much faster than for conifers. But if the leaves are already out and growing, you’ll have to leave it til next year. Hopefully someone with more conifer collecting experience will chime in with some advice for you though.

2 Likes

Yeah leaves are out already. So would you recommend watering when new soil gets dry first or wait until field soil is drier?