Will Grafted Maple Get Better?

Hi All: I am new to bonsai but have been interested for a long time. I love the Mirai community as I have been learning a lot.

I recently found a good deal on a small grafted Japanese Maple “Shaina” at a local nursery which I purchased on impulse. However, the grafting appears to be done a little messy / not clean. I guess I can always just plant it as a container tree for the garden, but would love to see if I can use this as a future bonsai. I am not sure if the trunk/graft will get better with more growth? I don’t mind letting it grow for a few more years, but would love some input as I really like maples and would like to learn what to look for in future. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Most likely to get worse. Air layering above the graft is an option.

Probably you’re only option if you hope for that to be a better bonsai. Maples respond so quickly to airlayeringthat you should be able to do the sir layer end of May and cutting it off in September. You’ll need to protect over the winter, of course.

1 Like

I agree, that graft will only get worse over time. Your best option is to air-layer above the graft. It’s easy to do and should give you a good radial root system going forward. There is plenty of content in the library on the process.

Thank you for the insight everyone. I appreciate it. I will review the library and learn more about the air layering process. Looks like a pretty hardy maple specimen, so hope things will work out. If anything, I at least now know what to keep an out for moving forward - as I read most / many maples variants are grafted.

1 Like

My favorite air layer stream is by David Cutchins on August 3,2021. He does these commercially so has his technique down for many successes. Title is Air Layering Primer. Air layer starts around 33.4. Air layer burrito!!

1 Like