Japanese Maple air layer

I have a question for everyone here. Has anyone here air layered a sharpes pygmy from its grafted root stock. I have a decent tree that I have been thinking of of air layering the top out to eliminate the grafting point. It is minimal right now but the tree is still very young. I’ve attached a pic after my pruning a couple of weeks ago.

2 Likes

following for advice. I am planning on air layering my Jap maple that I have been growing for 15 years in a pot.

Sharp’s pygmy is a dwarf variety of palmatum, the graft may be there to give the tree some vigor. I’d only layer it when the trunk line is pretty close to the target dimensions.

I have a dwarf variety (Little Princess) on its own root stock and it’s an extremely slow grower. I’ve owned it for more than 10 years and it went from a pencil-sized whip to a thumb-sized trunk after 7 years in a growing box and 3 years in the ground. I could literally cut the primary branches back to a stub and put it in a mame pot.

1 Like

I’m not seeing a graft. Just nice nebari and smooth bark on the trunk.
There is a color change and a minor ring. Nothing to get excited about.
Closeup ?

1 Like

@KurtP here is a close up of the graft. I know I am being a little overly picky on the graft.

@Michael_P I understand that it is a dwarf. I have five different varieties of Japanese maples throughout my property and as bonsai. I have also worked in the landscape industry for over 30 years. I moved this summer to a new home on just over 4 acres. I have started to create a traditional japanese garden around our pond. Over the next five years I plan on planting around 40 different varieties of acer palmatum, acer shirasawanum, and acer japonicum. I appreciate your input on your experience, as we can always learn from each others past trails.