Wild Olive Pre-Bonsai First Styling Advice

Hi guys! This is my first time posting here, hope to learn a lot from the community. Right now, I need help with my new olive tree.

This here is a wild olive yamadori from the island of Crete (in Greece).

You’ll notice it’s not the kind of tree Ryan spoke about in his olive videos, this one does not bear fruit and has tiny leaves, and its form is the natural olive form (still very much twisted and gnarly and with tons of naturally occurring deadwood).

Here are a few more views, as well as a potting suggestion from the guy that gave it to me.

My main dilemma is:

• Should I chop off the section of the trunk that currently forms the apex to force growth in the lateral direction to the right, or do I keep that growth and remove the growth/deadwood to the right of the apex?

Here’s how the first situation would look (roughly):

And here’s a rough look at the second situation:

Clearly, the second situation is far less invasive and dramatic, but I’m also not too sure on my feelings about how it looks. I feel like the first situation would give rise to some nice taper, but I’m unsure of how it would affect the health of the tree, what would be the appropriate time and method to perform the operation.

Thanks in advance to anyone who chimes in!

3 Likes

I don’t have answers for all your questions — I think any olive specific info I could add would just be parroting what Ryan says in the olive videos — but I think you have a really special tree here and would love to see you keep everything instead of chopping off various portions. For a start, I would just style the foliage bearing branches and see where the design takes you. I think the first or second picture is your best front but you get some good perspective in the movement of the dead wood in picture three so maybe somewhere between picture three and then either one or two.

3 Likes