Pinus Radiata as bonsai

Hi everyone,
As a beginner of bonsai i have a burning question that i cant seem to find an answer to.
Is Pinus radiata ( The Monterey pine i believe ) not a desirable species to bonsai ?
i cannot find any info on working with Radiata .
It is one thing we have here that plentiful in New Zealand and see lots of great possible yamadori potential everywhere.
Thanks heaps. Im loving the Mirai site

1 Like

Hey Shaneo, I’m also a beginner and before I found Mirai, I had read about “optimal” or “desirable” trees for bonsai which led me to believe that I had to have one of those types. However, when I began listening to Ryan, one of the things that stuck out to me most was when he said that a bonsai professional should be able to bonsai any tree. Granted, we’re probably not professionals, however, I think it still holds true that any tree should be able to be bonsai. I’ve also heard in a couple of the Question and Answer videos when asked about tree species which lack sufficient bonsai information, Ryan tends to tell people to try it and let him know how it goes. There are plenty of trees with undiscovered potential.

Hope that helps!

2 Likes

Hi Carl ,
Thanks for your reply, and what a mind opening one it was, as a beginner i think we get stuck in a bubble of doing what we have been told and forget that there is lots to learn by " just doing it "
you also made me realise that i am already doing it as i have alot of shrubs and small trees in pots that i thought would make great bonsai and i am not yet sure of what they are lol.
you have helped a great deal . thanks Carl

2 Likes

Hi Shaneo