What got you started in Bonsai and what has bonsai done for you?

It’s important to remember where we came from right? So what got you interested in bonsai?

What pushed you past that “buying a tree at walmart and just sitting it in a window sill phase”? Did you have a mentor? A local club?

Has bonsai positively impacted your health? Have you found something you were missing in your life through bonsai?

I will start off!

So my bonsai journey has been a short one (2 years), but has transformed my life (for the better of course!). About two years ago I struggled with crippling anxiety and depression. It was negatively effecting my work to the point where I had to go to part time for work for 5 months. I never left my house unless it was for work or food. I needed something to get me up off my bed watching netflix or off my computer. I have always enjoyed nature, but am an IT guy by trade so I found myself inside all the time.

So I just googled bonsai, looking for a tree to buy. Then one day my Dad sent me a text that they had trees at Costco so I went and bought a ficus and a juniper. The juniper promptly died, as they usually do when they are from big box stores. At the time I had no idea what I did wrong. So from there, I started to study my mistakes. When I do something I go all out, to the point of maybe a bit of unhealthy obsession, but I needed a positive obsession in my life.

I found my local club and contacted them about coming to a meeting. Now walking into a room of strangers was just about the most terrifying thing to me at that time, but I challenged myself to confront my anxiety. So I went to a meeting. At first my skin was crawling, brow sweating, hands clammy. Then I started talking to people and I instantly felt at home.