Asking for help from local bonsai club?

I am brand new to this hobby and have joined a bonsai club, I wanted to try to and grow trees from seeds and have purchased equipment for a heat bed. I do not like asking people for things no matter how menial they are so I looked around for a source for viable seeds of some trees I would like to try and grow. Almost all I read said the success rate of buying seeds online is very low. It was suggested to reach out to your community or bonsai club to ask about
getting fresh seeds. So that’s what I did, I sent an email to the local bonsai group I’m in. I didn’t ask for free seeds I said I would pay and come get them. I received an email from the president saying “Mike the only way you are going to get bonsai seeds is from mail order. Google bonsai seeds. Good luck with them.” That floored me, I sent an email back questioning the response and pointing out there are no “bonsai seeds” and I thought this was a place to get help and help each other. I guess that’s not the case with this club.

Am I wrong in my response, or thinking it was Okay to ask for help from my club to get fresh seeds?

Hi Mike, that sounds like an odd reply! I’m sorry you didn’t get a better response. It’s a shame you didn’t get more encouragement and advice from the club president. I think it’s extremely important for clubs to be inclusive and make newcomers feel welcome.

Do you have (or have plans to get) other material (nursery stock, yamadori, etc.) apart from seeds? As you probably know, it’ll take quite a few years before you can do anything with a specimen grown from a seed. Having more developed material to keep you busy while you wait for the seed grown trees mature is probably a must if you want to keep your interest up (or you have way more patients than most of us :wink: )