Overwintering Giant Sequoia

What is the best way to overwinter a Giant Sequoia sapling in New York? Im 40 min north of NYC.
Thanks,
Fred

1 Like

Hey Fred, how did this go the past few years? I’m in an extremely cold environment where they’re native, but am concerned about temps below 20 with them in a bonsai pot, and have been overwintering in a cold shelter, placed on the gravel.

I’ve been growing some from seed for several years now in Anchorage AK. I’m in 5a, so we get down to -15 F for brief runs. Leaving them on the ground from Late spring until temps drop to 30 degrees F consistently (Sept/Oct) has worked best for me. Then, I tent them in a window for a month to slowly return them to a Spring/Summer temperature. Then they go onto my shelves in the house under lights. Hope that helps!

1 Like

Thanks for this! What’s is the climate like inside? Mine are getting down to 7-8 at night in the cold shelter outside.

I try to make sure the trees have had at least 6 weeks of sub-42 degree F temps before bringing them inside. I bring them up to between 42 and 48 degrees F in the tented window for the first week or two. then mid 50’s for another and low to mid 60’s for another week before I bring them upstairs to my grow shelves. Upstairs temps are 68-70 F. Humidity in the house is low at 35%. To counter this, I keep my trees clustered in a humidity tray and water 1-2 times a day with my current soil mix. I hope this helps!

1 Like

Excellent! So you’re saying with temps dropping to 0F tonight, I can bring it into the garage at 40-42F overnight, and it’ll be ok. Thinking about bringing it inside, since it’s had two months now of outdoors below 42 (some swings above, up to 50 once in a while with the sun we get, but that has mostly stopped with the cold shelter being completely buried up to the roofline in snow.