Coast Redwoods in Cold Climates

As the title suggests - anyone here having long term success with coast redwood (sequoia sempervirens) in a cold climate region (like upstate NY), without a greenhouse? That’s the situation I’m in. I have 3 specimens, 2 collected and one a seedling that I’ve been growing for almost 10 years. The trees seem to be losing steam/weakening over time. In particular the seedling was very vigorous for the first 5-7 years, and I was able to develop a decent trunk by allowing the top to grow unimpeded to 12’ or so (in a container, of course).

However, the past several years it is much less vigorous and the root system isn’t very strong. There doesn’t appear to be an insect or disease issue (at least that I can identify).

My winter storage is an unheated mudroom that is bright but little sun, and maintains temps in the upper 30s to mid 40s range much of the winter. I really don’t have anything better available. Maybe I’m trying to do the impossible considering my conditions but am interested in hearing how others might be dealing with this type of problem.

Chris

Chris, I find that mine winter great at 55 degrees, if you can manage to get the temp up they should do fine. Perhaps build a plexiglass box with a light bulb on a thermostat?

1 Like

Guy, how much light do your trees get during the winter? And how long have you been growing them? Where are you located…near Toronto, if you’re the person I’ve seen on other forums?