Is this crazy thuja worth collecting?

Hi all, I’m a bonsai beginner and want to have a crack at collecting.

I have what I believe is a thuja in my garden.

See the pics below. It doesn’t look massively healthy, and it’s a very odd shape with no growth on the first 2-3ft on each of the three trunks.

As this tree is in my garden, there is no rush to get it out of the ground.

So my questions are,

Should is strengthen/train it in the ground before extracting? Or get it into a large training pot and nurse it there?

What can I do to give the tree more vigor?

Is this suitable for bonsai in the first place? Could I stimulate lower growth some how?

What style would best suit this tree?

Thanks in advance for the advice

3 Likes

Hello and welcome! Lot’s of questions here and a lot of this just depends on several things. First off, if you want to collect it I’d suggest trying to get as much root mass as possible. I would wait until early spring which is proper re-potting season to to dig it. Place in a tigh box with sifted pumice and check out the Randy Knight Aftercare Mirai live stream-it’s full of great into on aftercare for collected trees. After you collect, you don’t want to work on the tree for 1-3 years, your goal is to get it nice and healthy before any styling. If you collect it, the great thing is you’ll get some valuable experience in collecting/aftercare.