Fertilizer Cake Recipes

Bio-Gold is a little on the pricey side. There’s no denying it. That being said, I’ve trolled the internet for recipes on fertilizer cakes, mostly to update the recipe I’ve been using for a couple of years now. I think I have a mix that will work better for me.

I’ve done a little research, and here’s what I’m thinking of including. I’m including links in case you want to recommend a better brand/product, and not for promotional purposes:

3 parts Cottonseed Meal (nitrogen and potassium)
1 Part Bone Meal (phosphorus and protein)
1 part Blood Meal (nitrogen)
1 part Soil Acidifier (counteract hard water)
1/2 part All Purpose fertilizer, with iron (overall NPK and iron to help with chlorosis)
5 oz Fish Emulsion (overall NPK and binding)
1 Tbl. Iron Chelate (Chlorosis)
All purpose liquid fertilizer as needed (for binding)
4 oz glue (long term bindng)

I live in southern Arizona, and the water here is very hard, leaving a white crust on the rim of all my pots. It’s gotten better now that I’ve begun using top dressing on my trees, but it’s still there. That’s why I’m adding the acidifier, instead of the garden lime from the original recipe. It’s also why I’m adding the iron chelate. Some of my trees have an especially hard time with the hard water, and this helped. Some of the recipes I saw called for flour instead of glue, but the glue I’m using is washable, and for some reason, seems better than the flour. I keep imagining little dough balls in the bottom of my pots! I’ve also never had an issue with mold like others have mentioned.

Any tips you guys could give me would be greatly appreciated, and I’m really looking forward for you guys to tear this apart!

4 Likes

Your recipe looks good.
Have you looked for an alternative fertilizer besides Bio-Gold?

2 Likes