Douglas fir Southern California

Hey folks,
I have a very modest Douglas fir. I collected last summer and have been growing in pure pumice. It has done pretty well. But I would like to know if anyone has advice. I think I’m past pruning and maybe can pinch in a month before growth hardens off. Maybe I shouldn’t I have no experience with the species and want to eventually learn the species and have it grow into a nice shohin. So any advice on collecting them or growing them or the conditions or condition my tree my have would be appreciated. Thanks for everything in advance.

1 Like

A little WIRE, now while the main trunk is bendable, would help. Sharp bends, especially leaving the limb you intend on keeping, on the outside of the bend.

KurtP what would you say is a good time for wire?
Thanks for the advice.

No time like the present. Gently… It will take several years to set and stay put on younger trees. Maybe only the main trunk. Doug fir takes longer…
I put wire on my 5yo ponderosa seedlings last month, after transplanting them out of a forest into individual pots. Put sharp movement away from the several lower limbs. They MAY only be 5 inches tall, but, they already have character… The new buds are already 1" and elongating…
Just try to wire between the needles… choose the limbs you want for later.
Watch the wiring basics video…

1 Like

Hey Giordano, nice starter. First off, you might want to check whether this is a Doug fir (Pseudotsuga menziesii) or a true fir (Abies), possibly white fir (A. concolor). I have both, and it looks more like the latter to me, but maybe not. True firs put on a ton of vascular growth and back bud more readily on older wood than Doug fir, but are more sensitive to root work in my experience.