Developing a Bald Cypress

Hello Mirai-ians,

Starting this thread to document the growth and evolution of a Bald Cypress that I’ve been working on since 2017.

It was bought at Wal-Mart from their nursery department for $14.99 in April of 2017. It was very tall (7’) and slender with a slight buttress at the nebari (1.25"). That same day I took it home and worked on it.

It was cut back hard and had a severe root reduction operation performed. It had a radial root system at the surface so everything below that was removed. It was placed in a shallow oil pan that was placed in a kiddie pool. I had just moved in at that point and the pool was inherited from the prior home owner.

April 2017

I made cuttings from the trunk chop and some branches. I had 100% rooting success. I’ve since sold and gifted them to others.

2 Likes

Late May 2017

Yard renovation in progress, creating a goldfish pond. Keeps the tree watered and fertilized. Similar to how they can be found in Texas, near or emerging from a source of water. Though not exactly in this fashion.

It’s growing vigorously. I actually cut back 8-9 branches that were competing with one another and keep just the highest branch to form the leader. Every branch had grown about 2-3’ in length. The leader was cut back as well.

2 Likes

December 2017

Going dormant for the winter, not much to look at. It had to be repotted some time during the late summer because my dogs discovered they could use the pond as a pool! While swimming with the fishes it was knocked off its perch and sank to the bottom and lost its soil. It was replaced with DE. I kept it in the pond all winter.

May 2018

Over the winter it thickened up considerably. In February as the buds were beginning to swell I was brave enough to cut back harder on the trunk to introduce movement and taper. You can see how much thicker the trunk is already.

August 2019