Bald Cypress advice/opinions

Hello all. I just obtained a nice Bald Cypress from a nursery in Portland. It’s about 11’ tall, trunk above flare is about 3 1/2" diameter. I acquired it because of its maturity and the fact that it was already containerized to an extent, with the intent of trunk chopping it and starting to develop it into a bonsai. However, I have no experience with this species, so looking for advice on (among other things) what time of year to do this procedure. Left to my own devices, I would think early spring as buds start to appear? Also, Ryan referred in the video on BC to ways of trunk chopping to allow healing over in a way that enhances a more natural taper, but didn’t elaborate - anyone out there know what he was talking about?
Also wondering at what height to chop. The lowest portion of the tree is fairly sparse in terms of branches (and I did some damage to those in transport). I’m thinking that will take care of itself once the apical dominance is removed, but wondered if I should do some heavy pruning off the top now to move some energy toward the lower branches this season, and trunk chop next year? I’ve also wondered if I could air-layer the upper half of this tree instead of just trunk chopping, to get two trees, but I have no experience with air layering this species. Again, just guessing, I would probably do that in early summer after new growth had hardened off, but I don’t know … If it failed, I guess it would be no harm no foul, as I could just trunk chop it anyway and retain the base as originally planned …