Concave cutters repair, help needed

I abused my concave cutters and now the blades don’t line up right. I tightened the pin on the pivot point, which helped a bit, but it’s still out of alignment toward the tips of the blades. Any suggestions?

You need to bend the left side in front of the pivot downward. Not sure what kind of steel you have there, as the black part looks painted. Minimum you need heat, best would be to separate the blades. worth the effort?

1 Like

I would not heat them - that will most likely destroy the heat treatment of the cutting edge which is normally beyond the hobbyest to recreate for this type of tool. Heck, I am a Materials Scientist by training and have heat treated several cutting tools and would not attempt this one since it is a hard edge on a softer steel body…

Concave cutters are designed so that the cutting edges are parallel, but with a slight overbite. The two cutting edges do not come together, but are just misaligned. You can recreate this with some very careful grinding. If you use a grinding wheel for the first two steps use a very, very light touch since you don’t have much steel to remove (plus you don’t want to overheat the steel and ruin the temper).

1. Grind the tip of the left blade down so it is aligned with the right blade. You would see this in in the 2nd view. I took quite a bit of material off one of my concave cutters when I broke both tips off in a drop onto concrete. It makes them easy to distinguish from the others since I use them for roots.
  2. Grind the edge of the left hand blade very slightly at the bottom so that gap between the blades is even. It won’t take much so a hand stone might be best.
  3. Sharpen the left hand blade by using a hand stone to remove a little metal from the inside of the bottom of the blade. This looks like it is the inner blade for the overbite which is why you sharpen the inside. If it was the outer blade, you would sharpen from the outside.