Browning Junipers! Unsure of what to do

Hello all!,

Thank you for taking the time to read this topic! It was suggested for me to move the topic from Beginners forum to the Horticulture one.

My mind is currently racing as to what to do now, and am worried I may overreact since I am new to the bonsai world. I’ve learned doing too much can be just as bad as doing too little.

I’m not sure what is happening to the trees below. Is this a fungal issue? Dried out due to lack of water? Other type of infestation? Chemical Burned? Need help! I’ve included photos and some info of what the tree has been through recently. First 3 photos relate to tree 1 and the last 2 photos related to tree 2.

Over the past week or so the 2 junipers my father had gifted me have started to turn brown almost overnight. They were green and fine last Tuesday, and about last Wednesday - Thursday started to get this color. The affected areas have stayed about the same, and hasn’t progressed from what I can tell, and if it has not enough that I noticed. (I started to take photos daily to try and see any changes) Tree #2 started to brown in certain areas starting yesterday.

I live in Southern California and we have had a period of high heat over the past week (80 - 90 degree F weather). Both trees get full direct afternoon sun for about 4-5 hours during winter, more during the summer. Although I watered a little more than I normally would since the soil looked more on the drier side. I did wet the foliage on both trees during this time as well. (I realize that may have been a mistake! :frowning:)

In October 2020 I repotted them into new bonsai soil since the soil before was compacted, no root pruning was done.

About a month and a half ago I was using a homemade spray (water dish soap alcohol) to treat what I believed to be a scale infection.