Black Pine Development

Hey everyone I am new to bonsai and Mirai and I need some direction. I have 2 young black pines (2-3 years old) between 12-18 inches tall and roughly slightly smaller than a dime around. The are both planted in a large colander with organic material. I want to develop the trunks and wire them but I am not sure where to start. Any suggestions?

1 Like

Hi @CPVS85,
Do you have any pictures? Sounds like you may be able to give them some movement but will probably need to grow them on to develop.

1 Like

Here are some photos. I would like to make the smaller one on the left a cascading.

You should be able to bend these into just about any shape you want.

For the cascading one I would put a fairly severe bend in it so that the small branch(es) on the left at the top of the bend. Then put in some back and forth/up and down motion so that one of the branches in each of the whorls is on the outside of a curve. Finally cut off the branch from each whorl on the inside of the curve to avoid swelling.

The taller one is a bit more problematic since there not many low branches. You could wire in some curves so the small branch is on the outside of a curve as well as one of the 3 at the next whorl. I would then wire another of the 3 somewhat up to become the new leader and cut off the 3rd. This still leaves 3 at the junction including the current main trunk, but I leaving it for 1 year as a sacrifice before cutting it off.

Thank you for your suggestions. Would you recommend keeping it in the soil or transfer them to bonsai soil? And when would you suggest wiring?

Also what would you suggest doing with these extra needles?