Beginner Pine Help

Hello everyone! I’m fairly new to bonsai and this will be the first pine that I work on. I received it last summer from my local bonsai society. I was told it was a JWP grafted to an eastern white pine. It was also field grown and most likely dug up and potted early last spring. It seems to be in a mix of field soil and red lava. The substrate retains a lot of water and takes a long time too dry out even during the hotter months of the summer. I would love to start pruning and wiring it this year, but may need to repot it to a more aerated substrate. Is it okay to repot it this year even though it’s only been dug up from the field for a year? Also, does this look like a JWP? Some people online have stated that it is not. I would love the opinion of an be expert. Would it be okay to do some wiring this year if I do a repot in march? Lastly, has anyone hear of a JWP variety called “ Kukuzumia”? This is what the grower stayed it was.Thanks in advance for the advice!

1 Like

Does the container look to be fully populated with roots? I believe we are in the prime season for repotting pines (at least on my region (8b).

I’d have to check but I believe it is moderately populated with roots. I want to get it into a more appropriate soil and into an actual bonsai pot.

It is not advisable to repot pines in back to back years. I have some more thoughts, but need to run an errand. Back in a bit.

1 Like

That’s what I was afraid of. To be honest I’m not positive if it was potted last spring but I’m assuming it was. I’ll have to take a look at the rootball when I have time this week. Also haven’t seen the grower lately at the bonsai society meeting so I can’t ask him.

JWP Fukuzumi
Pinus parviflora Fukuzumi Japanese White Pine also known as ‘Fukuzumi’ is unique pine with small blue-green needles.

I am not confirming that this is what it is, just the most likely based on your spelling