Advice on air layering this cherry tree

I’m considering buying this Cherry tree (see below), and air layering it somewhere below the fork on the top-left, as well as possibly some place on the right branch. I’ve never done this before. Do you think this could work and do you think it could turn into a good bonsai? If so, where would you recommend doing the air layering? Then I want to see if I can grow the remainder of the tree back to a full-sized tree for a friend.

There’s also the second one below with a thicker trunk, but less foliage. The trunk also looks less interesting. I personally think the first is better; do you agree?

Sorry, i disagree. Tree #2 looks to have better options.

For tree #1 I’d try an air layer 3-4 inches below the section with leaves near the top. The remainder of the tree has no appeal to me.

Tree # 2 appeals much more; I like the trunk. I would try two air layers: one a few inches below the 1st side branch up and a 2nd a few inches below the next branch up. Give the air layers plenty of time. Remove when they sprout tons of roots
. I suspect you will also get buds that push lower down the trunk. Let them run and you can create a nice shohin starting with the thick trunk as a base.

Interesting. Someone I asked in another community also preferred the second tree. I liked the texture and curves in the first, although I guess with difficulty you could still curve the second tree (I’ve seen a video of someone doing this successfully).

For tree #2, with the lower air layer, would the focus be the branch shooting out to the left? Would you cut the trunk above it or try let it grow more side branches?

For the shohin, would you mean starting with the existing roots? Just cutting the trunk perhaps a couple inches above the bud shooting off to the right?

Do you think this has good potential? I’m about to make final arrangements to purchase the tree.