Yamadori hunting for bald cypress

I’m planning on hitting a few spots I have already secured permission to gather some bald cypress and maybe if I find something else of interest. I think I have a solid list of items I will need for the gathering process. What will I need after?

1. Tub to plant the tree
  2. Soil, what kind of soil should I use?

I guess my biggest question is soil and what else should I know if I have never done this before? Thanks in advance!!

1 Like

This youtube video from Bill’s Bayou shows a potting after collection.
Go to about 16:30 for the placing into a grow container.
Bill has told me that swamp collected go into a container without drainage.
A cypress collected from above waterline soil need drainage holes just like any other yamadori.

Bill is a frequent poster on the forum and a great source for soil or knowledge.
Beautiful videos about forest planting and carving old bald cypress!
:heart_eyes:

3 Likes

just watched this video yesterday. Thank you for your suggestion!

@BillsBayou I have collected a cypress tree, put it in a tub and soil and now I have a question for the expert. When the tub gets filled with water, how do you keep from floating? I have it tied to the sides of the tub but can’t figure out a way to get the tree tied to the bottom of the tub without putting a hole in the tub which would allow the water to drain and I don’t want that. What are your suggestions? In the image you can see the wire on the left and I have a similar one on the right.

1 Like

Was the BC collected in the water? If not it should be in a draining container. If it was collected from a submerged location you can put holes into the side of the container at a level that allows water to remain and still stabilize the tree to preserve root growth. Good luck with the cypress.
Mine did not make it through the winter.
Have fun, learn lots, share with others.

Thank you. Yes. Tree was collected in water.