Wintering in Wyoming - de-icing cables or heat tape?

Hello. I’m new to Mirai and a novice to Bonsai. I began some young bonsai from nursery stock in southern Utah a few years ago before moving to Wyoming. Winters where I’m at routinely get well below zero at nights and below freezing during the day. Sadly all of my original trees have gradually died, worsening after each winter. I’ve tried a make-shift greenhouse with a heater (that died mid-winter), cold frames with the trees buried up to lowest branches in mulch, and the same without the cold frame. My observation is that the roots eventually fully or partially freeze.

I have 5 new young trees that survived our July hail storm and I’m hoping to develop and keep alive through the winter. I have a Rocky Mountain Juniper, Ponderosa, Blue Spruce, and 2 Black Hills Spruces. Each is in training pot that could be planted in the ground.

Has anyone had success with simply planting the pots but with de-icing cable (like used for roofs/gutters) under or around the base of the pots? Such de-icing cables are cheaper to power throughout the winter than a heater in a greenhouse, and I know longer have a greenhouse or cold frame. Any other ideas are welcome too!! I feel with what I know and will learn through Mirai I can produce some decent bonsai but I keep getting stopped by winters.

2 Likes

Ideas:
Find a friend with a coldframe/greenhouse and rent space.
Winds are often the culprit. You may be thinking cold, but winds cause desiccation and have killed many trees here in Colorado. Put up a wind break.
You should talk to and ask Backcountry Dan, he’s up your way and has learned a lot.