Nursery Stock Junipers

I’m pretty new at bonsai. The first videos I’ve watched are the nursery stock series, and after a visit to my local nursery I’ve found these two junipers.

They are in bad condition as you can see (they were also very cheap, 25$ for both of them) but I figured that they would be a lot of fun to play with and an opportunity to learn without the anxiety to kill them.

I live in northern Spain in the Atlantic region. Winter here is mild and temperatures below 0º Celsius and snow are very rare.

What would you recommend? Just to not touch them and live them alone until spring? Apply some wire? I guess repotting is out of the question.

2 Likes

You definitely want these trees to regain strength before you do any major work. Having said that, I think your best bet is to keep them from freezing and be careful not to over-water this winter. Re-pot in the late spring just as the truly warmer days begin. Do not remove all of the soil and try to preserve as many roots as possible. Make sure to use a well draining bonsai soil and do not over-pot them.

I would not prune or wire these until they are showing signs of recovery. When I do this operation on nursery junipers I typically see new growth and back buds by the end of summer. That means you are probably looking all the way into the summer of 2021 before doing your first styling.

I understand the psychology of buying the markdown plants at the nursery, but you can see that the timeline for working them is not ideal. Spend a little more to get some healthy plants that can be worked sooner and you will be well rewarded.

Best of luck!

2 Likes

Thanks for the advice @andy2sheds. I will be patient then and continue to look for better material in my local nurserys.

Do you think it would be of any help to fertilize them now, or is it to late for this season?

1 Like

If you have not dropped below freezing a mild dose may be of some use.

1 Like

Winters here are gentle.

Thanks for the advice!

1 Like