Newbie, initial nursery stock advice

Hello, I am brand new to all of this. Have always wanted to do bonsai. Coronavirus stay at home period got me going. Very inspired by Bonsai Mirai and all of you. Over the past few weeks I have obtained a few humble pieces of nursery stock that spoke to me and I will start working on, knowing it is likely I am going to kill or screw some of them up. That said, would appreciate any advice for next steps. I have cleaned up and selected front on these. Planning to do structural pruning and wiring this fall, then potting during the winter if appropriate.

1. Austrian black pine - planning to lean left and work the apex back to the left, with lower left branch being primary branch.
  2. Japanese Pink Pussy Willow - not sure how this tree will do, have not seen any examples on-line, but I like the lower developed trunk.
  3. Millenium swamp azalea - lower trunk has alot of flaws, less happy with it than I was initially at the nursery, but figured I will learn on it.
  4. Oregon Grape - plan to leave it leaning/curved to left and up, and develop some branches on the upper side.
2 Likes

3 Likes

My advice is to watch more of Ryan’s videos, in which the answers you want are all contained.

2 Likes

I’d pot in the spring

Thank you, have been watching a lot and will continue to do so.

I think all your choices are absolutely beautiful! Apart from the Austrian black pine, all the species are pretty rare in bonsai and should be very fun to work on and explore.