Large Trident Maple Reduction Options

This is my first forum chat. Im in South Australia. Im new to Mirai and this brilliant tool. I recently bought this 7’ tall Trident Maple from a tree farm and potted it in late Fall 2 weeks into leaf drop. I planned to air layer it to shorten the rather straight 23" trunk and reduce the top. Now Im considering 3 options for reducing the structure after the spring flush hardens off, and have marked them YELLOW, the biggest reduction, BLUE and the least reduction in RED using the hierachial structure approach Ryan Neil explained in “Nursery Stock Japanese Maple Design” Nov 7 2023. Branch labelled “A” may be removed or moved wider. Any Thoughts?

My suggestion would be to just air layer in the spring and then prune back the branches at leaf drop. That way you let all the leaf mass possible to regenerate the roots.

Here is what your structure would look like if you went with your most aggressive planned reduction. When air layering don’t forget that you can make the cut at an angle to introduce movement. I marked roughly where your air layer could take place with your plan. You have one issue with your plan and that is the lengths of 1, 2, and 3 are all roughly the same. Ryan often repeats that with structure the thicker the structure the longer it needs to be in proportion to other structure.

Regardless of how far you choose to reduce, this tree will probably always have those strong straight lines so I would play with a design that makes the most use of those.