Building structure

I bought a Japanese Maple towards the end of the summer here in NC which has a beautiful trunk and root flare but very poor branch structure. I know it’s going to need a ton of training. I’m relatively new to Bonsai and am excited to start this trees journey but I’m unsure about how to proceed on this tree. It has 3 main branches that emerge from the top of the trunk, has several locations where 3 or branches emerge from one location and there is a ton of unoccupied space (due to broken branches at the nursery). I know I have to remove several branches to avoid swelling and reverse taper but I think it’ll have virtually no shape to it if I do. Any input would be much appreciated.

1 Like

I would begin by using some zip ties to close the obtuse angle between the main trunks/ branches. Then I would only cut off what is actually causing a flaw such as inverse taper at this particular moment. Looking at this photo I see only 2… Maybe 3 branches that need reduction or removal. Then leave it be until next year.

I figured I’d have to close that gap a little. My main concern was these 2 knuckles. Thanks for the input.

1 Like

I would remove the branches that offers the least long term potential. Think about the movement you want in the final design and I think you will know which should come off. You can reduce them slowly or cut back to the collar this fall or spring.

1 Like

Sounds good. Thank you

1 Like

Remember that maples will almost always back bud a great deal after a major cut back. This allows you to cut back dramatically to establish a good line and regrow branches. This can even be to the point of cutting back to a single line with good direction change and taper. As a result, I would not be afraid to cut back to a good line eliminating all of the structural flaws. Ideally this leaves the trunk line and a side branch, but the side branch can be skipped if needed.