JBP initial reduction question

Black Pine newbie here.

I’m in Los Angeles, where JBP never really stop growing, they just sort of slow down for the “winter.” I just got a JBP that was in a nursery can for at least 10 years, maybe closer to 20. The soil is thick and heavy.

I took about 1/2 the foliage off and the same amount of roots (most coiled in the bottom, probably the only place there is any oxygen in the thick soil.

Given that I certainly am putting the tree under a lot of stress until the roots can fill in the new, good, airy soil around the reduced root ball…

Should I still pluck needles down to 10-12 pairs on each shoot as ryan describes in his whiteboard discussion in the multi-flush pine stream? He says this is spring work that you would do on a new acquisition. My instinct is that I took enough foliage off already and I’d like to leave as much as possible to help regrow the roots. Also, there is not a huge imbalance in strength over the tree that needs correcting.

In the photos, the cloth covers a branch that will be removed later–same deal, I figured I should leave it so I don’t remove too much at once and to help the roots recover faster.

Opinions?

Thanks!
Keegan

7 Likes

This is amazing piece of material and I would definitely wait a year to see tree’s response to the work you’ve done/it’s recover. Esp. cos you removed some roots where all the energy of pines is stored.
Give it some TLC now :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I would say let the tree recover. Looks like you have a pretty even distribution of needles on the tree right now. If you get good growth next year then you could probably reduce in the fall. Awesome tree btw!

2 Likes

Nice material, where’d you purchase?