Help! Possible pathogen on hornbeam

This is on a European hornbeam (carpinus betulus) cultivated for bonsai.

I cut off part of a branch that I wanted to shorten and noticed weird black and brown bumps along a line on the branch. When I looked at the cross-section, there was a darkened segment that looked like the wood was rotting.

Does anyone have any idea what it might be? Could it be harmful? If so, what should I do to remedy this? A person on reddit said it might be damage from beetle larvae.

I am reluctant to cut off that entire branch as it’s pivotal to the design of the tree, but I could cut a little lower and carve out the part that looks dead/diseased. Would that be enough to stop the possible pathogen from spreading, or is cutting off the entire branch the only option?

Thank you in advance for your help!

1 Like

Hey there,
I think it might be canker, or at least it looks like it.

I have no experience with the disease, only what I’ve read. The usual treatment in landscaping is to cut below the infected part to healthy tissue, but in bonsai that pretty much makes the tree useless in some cases.
Maybe someone has a less destructive idea on how to deal with it.

1 Like

Yep, sure looks like canker. I’ll try and carve out the infected bits. Honestly, this is on the second trunk, and if I cut it off, I might as well lose the whole tree. Don’t wanna end up with a boring tree with no character.

1 Like

I know the feeling, been there , done that.

2 Likes