Grow boxes from Total Wine

I just saw Ryan’s video on urban yamadori. Making grow boxes isn’t that hard but still takes up time. If you live in an area with a Total Wine Store they sell used wine boxes for five bucks that are always of very light construction and in minutes can be converted into very serviceable grow boxes. Anything to save time.

4 Likes

Hmmm, interesting. Do you have any pics?

1 Like

Boxes come shallower and or wider. Depends on what you want. Five bucks a box. Making boxes is a simple job but it takes a lot more than five dollars of my time.

4 Likes

It takes way more than $5 in material these days too. That box looks awesome. I can always cut the size down using my table saw if need be. Thanks for the pics.

1 Like

I don’t know why, but I was expecting a plastic box or something. Those look like they would totally work well.

1 Like

I work in the restaurant business and I frequently bring home wooden wine boxes to use as pre-bonsai material containers. More often than not to use for urban yamadori or nursery stock material that needs soil replacement but is not ready for root work. I build boxes for sensitive and more valuable yamadori to insure the wood is not treated.

1 Like

So far no issues with them. They show no eveidence of being treated wood. My intuition tells me that cheaply constructed single use boxes used only for shipping bottles of wine would not bear the extra expense of being treated.

1 Like

Yeah, that’s been my assessment that too. I do have one very nice little sierra juniper I collected last year in a wine box and a Santa Cruz cypress that are both doing well. The boxes do warp a bit at the corners over time, so I’ve added corner braces to my most recent endeavors.

1 Like