Field grown Trident

Hello!

I started my bonsai journey 6 months ago, so I’m quite new to the bonsai world. I have read TONS of information and I gotta say: man, I wish I discovered Mirai live sooner. I have learned so much in the past weeks. OK, enough background story and on to my question:

1,5 month ago I went to a Bonsai nursery and bought my first field grown tree, a trident maple. I directly barerooted the tree, cut some of the big roots and put in a wooden trainingbox with 2/4 akadama, 1/4 pummice and 1/4 lava rock. That’s all I did. No pruning what so ever because I learned to strengthen the tree and establish the root system in the first year or so. OK, so now I have a dillema. Growing it for a year means March 2021, that’s the period buds will swell and break here in the Netherlands. So that’s not the time for some big structural pruning and branch cutting. I watch a lot of the fundamental video on Mirai and learned pruning a (trident) maple is best to be done after the leaves drop in fall (that’s around Oktober/November here.

So my dillema is:
Can I do the structural pruning this Oktober /November, considering I potted the tree begin March, without weakening the tree that much?
I need to add that the tree is producing leaves like crazy and looks healthy in my (beginner) opinion. I’m fertilizing with biogold.

This is the tree now

2 Likes

How structural is this planned pruning?

Mainly the thick, straight branches. The straight branch in the first corner from the bottom and about 4-5 thick ones in the top. Letting one leader grow. No cut in the actual trunk itself.

Hi @AaronVh you don’t have to decide now – watch it over the summer and make a decision according to it’s health and vigour. But generally, after 6 - 7 months of unimpeded growth (on a trident no less) I personally wouldn’t hesitate to do your autumn pruning.