Compost tea thoughts

I was recently talking with a family member who is a horticulturist (doesn’t practice bonsai). he asked me if i used compost tea, me just recently starting bonsai and really being a beginner in the whole horticulture aspect of things all together didn’t know what it was. to shorten the story a little he told me it can greatly benefit the root system adding helpful bacteria and what not. I’m curious if anyone else uses this as a type of fertilizer (seems to have huge benefits) and the successes or downfalls this might bring?

i know roots are super important so to me it seems useful but i am new to bonsai and things react different in our smaller pots and soil compounds

Mirai did an experiment with compost tea and the short answer is that it didn’t work for Mirai. There are three podcasts (with Ian Hunter) on the experiment if you want to learn more.

1 Like

Don’t do it! Ask Ryan :grinning:

1 Like

oh wow that bad lol well glad I asked questions about it first lol

ill have to listen to thoughs glad i asked some questions first lol
thanks for the info

I personally think it’s a topic worth exploring a little more, but there is pretty strong evidence that the bonsai container is different enough that it’s not a quite the same as other types of container cultivation.

1 Like

In the UK/Ireland we are using a new product called Danu from ProBio Carbon in Ireland. It takes the bacteria selection a lot further than compost tea and has been selected by a very experienced soil scientist with some guidance from a qualified bonsai professional and hobbyists. It is a live culture with a very short shelf life in low temperatures though a dried version has just been established. which is easier to ship. Results so far are very encouraging though still early days.

3 Likes

Explanation on Danu is in this video from Peter: Soil health for bonsai - Live Stream with Peter Warren - YouTube

1 Like