Air Layering Supplies

I’m new to air layering, and have a question about using polyethylene film to wrap around sphagnum moss and create a seal that, in theory, will leave the air layer easier to maintain, without the need for water monitoring.

First thing: I’ve looked everywhere I can think of to try and get guidance on the film itself. Is there a certain thickness/brand/form of PE file that seems to work correctly? Even watching videos, it seems like everyone’s film is more or less flimsy/thick/“clingy”/etc. than the one before it. Is it a bag? Is it a roll of film? Is it the thicker sheets that are used on greenhouses? Does it matter as long as it’s sealed correctly? It seems that plastic sheets are measured by thickness in “mil”s. I believe that a mil is a thousandth of an inch.

Lastly: What are the benefits, if any, of not completely sealing the damp moss and letting rain get in, while poking holes for it to drain. For a beginner’s first batch of attempts, would it be easier or more reliable to seal it tight and hope that the moss’s moisture stays in while not drowning the plant, or drying out the moss?

Thanks for any help! I really appreciate your time.

2 Likes

I generally use a ziplock style bag for food storage - readily available from the kitchen and a reasonable thickness with which to work. I have covered some of them with aluminum foil to so they are darker inside.

I also like to leave it open at the top and poke a couple of low holes. I water the airlayer when I water the tree.

1 Like

Have you watched the stream by David Cutchins? He does air layers for a living and has techniques that work well and make money!

2 Likes

Have you watched the stream by David Cutchins? He does air layers at a commercial nursery and uses techniques that work and make money!
I cannot paste the link but if you look up propagation on Air Layer Primer it will take you to the stream. Not sure why his links are not able to be forwarded. 0_0

1 Like