Air layering question with crab apple tree

Hoping for some feedback. I’m relatively new to bonsai and air layered a couple small branches on a crab apple tree on May 23rd. Within a couple weeks one of the branches died [above] the air layer. Up until the last week the 2nd air layer was doing fine. While the non-air layered branches are doing fine and actually thriving, the leaves are started to curl up and some leaves yellowing on my 2nd air layer. Seems I’m now going to lose 2nd air layer as well. I’m in Chicago and the past week has been very hot with high heat indexes. Can air layer be stressed in trying to grow roots with high temps? As I understand the air layer stays 3 months. It has been fine for 9 weeks, but looking sick now. I have it in shade now, but I’m not optimistic. Suggestions and feedback please? I utilized the correct tool to remove bark, utilized root gel, Spaghnum, etc. Much thanks everyone

1 Like

Pic of leaves…

1 Like

What was your airlayering process- technique?

2 Likes

I can see foil so I’m assuming there is a bag full of sphagnum under that. Have you checked the layer for moisture levels/ roots? If there are a lot of roots that have indeed developed, they’ll be in need of more water, particularly if it has been hot. The foil “ball” doesn’t look huge so water will definitely be something to watch. To me it looks like it may have dried out. Keeping it out of direct sun right now (at least during the hottest parts of the day) seems like a good idea.

2 Likes

…thank you. Basically air layer tool to remove outer bark, root gel, sandwich bag packed with Spaghnum cut into 1-2" piece soaked in water, then wrapped in aluminum foil. Coated wire top and bottom with opening on top to allow water in. I’ve checked Spaghnum all along and it as been most, so I’m puzzled…