Aftercare for collected fig tree

Hi All,
I need some help on this one. This fig was collected 24 hours ago. The leaves are curling in along the midrib. The root ball has remained moist since collected and the soil was quite wet when collected. I have no experience with figs. I’m wondering if I need to reduce the foliage more than I have (approximately a 25% foliage reduction). Also, any other aftercare info would be helpful.
Ryan

1 Like

1 Like

Also, how about the lichen? Clean it off? Will it draw moisture out of the tree?

1 Like

I believe the lichen makes a statement for ancient tree grown in the wild. So I always leave lichen if I am lucky enough to have it develop. I really like how you rounded off the corners of the grow box. It will make the repot into a smaller container easier in my mind. Are you recovering this plant outdoors or indoors? My experience with ficus has always been recovering under artificial light in my sunroom to protect from desiccating wind and too intense sunlight. Were the roots large and fibrous? Misting and/or a humidity tray below can improve the micro climate to reduce transpiration.
Good luck with a nice tree!
:sunglasses:

I have the tree in my garage for now, but will need to move it outside within the next week or so. I have an area under 70% shade cloth. This time of year we get a lot of wind in my area so desiccation is definitely a concern.
This tree had fairly shallow roots. There was one large root at the bottom of the root ball. The rest of the larger roots that I cut were all around 1/2” to 3/4” in diameter. I did cut through some large roots, but it seems like they must have been from a neighboring fig tree as there are no large roots originating from the root ball.
I’m concerned that the reduced root mass will not be able to support the current foliage mass.

1 Like