Acer Palatum Osakazuki

Hi,

I am a complete newbie but have started to watch lots of videos and read some books to increase my knowledge.

I bought a Japanese Maple about 6 months ago just for my garden but it is still in a pot and I was wondering whether to start to plan to turn it into a bonsai. However when I researched it the response seemed to say that the species wasn’t great for bonsai, its a Acer Palmatum Osakazuki?

I am not concerned about the quality of the material as I will no doubt make lots of mistakes and have some conifers as well to start with, however I love the Japanese Maples. Any help would be great.

1 Like

Welcome aboard. Based upon what I found on-line I think Osakazuki could make a nice bonsai. The main issue will be the quality and location of the graft unless it is on its own roots from a cutting. Keep it healthy and if it is growing well I would would cut back the elongating shoots to a single pair to start to develop some ramification for when you style it.

My general approach to younger maples is to do a fairly aggressive first repotting as the buds sell in the spring to get rid of the grower mix and spread the roots in a good bonsai mix - I am using 3 parts Akadama, 1 part pumice, and 1 part lava which works well for me. Most of the time they respond very well to the aggressive root work, but occasionally I lose one. I like a good spreading nebari so this is a risk worth taking on inexpensive stock.

Thank you for the response that is very helpful. I have bought a few conifers to start to play with and learn with and I was thinking that I would re-pot the maple into a bigger growing pot so the trunk would thicken for this year and then look to do more with it next spring.

I have read about chopping the trunk when it gets to a 1/3 of the desired thickness etc, that scares me, but is that the best way?

1 Like

If you want to increase trunk thickness, the best way is to plant it directly into the ground. It’s much faster.