How to start from saplings?

Hello, all.

I recently bought a sampler online that contains three saplings. One each of Giant Sequoia, Dawn Redwood, and a Coastal Redwood. With great looking bonsai as the end goal, I’m curious how you guys would start the process. Should I make wood grow boxes, plant them in the ground, use a colander or pond basket? Also what soil type? Straight to 1:1:1 or a mix of potting soil and pumice? The trunks are smaller than a pencil at this point. I’m thinking root development would be step #1. This is my first year with bonsai.

Thanks for the help.

2 Likes

When they are this small, you don’t want to plant them in anything too big (the one exception is that the ground would be okay at this point, but maybe use a root control bag so the roots don’t go nuts). Otherwise, you’ll want to slowly step the container size up for a while, into larger and larger tubes until you get into a gallon container after about year 2 or 3 (which at that point might be good to put into a similar sized box or colander).

As for soil, I like to use potting soil (bark) and pumice when I’m developing seedlings and pre-bonsai.

3 Likes

I agree with @nmhansen about stepping up the pot size and using a mix of bark and pumice as the growing media since it promotes fast growth. I like to repot every other year to prune and spread the roots to get a good nebari. That slows the growth a bit, but I really like a good nebari. Finally, I like to use bulb pans or wood boxes that are a wider than they are deep once they move beyond a typical 4" (10 cm) pot to get better lateral root spread. I have not had much luck with colanders and I think it is due to my dry summer air. I am also using grow bags in the ground after I get a decent nebari started, but have only lifted one to move it to a new location so I don’t have any results to report in 1.5 years.

1 Like