Diatomaceous earth after 18 months

Hi folks!

I’m moving a bunch of my nursery stock trees from containers --> grow bags --> raised beds today. Some of them (all bald cypresses) have been in 100% diatomaceous earth for ~18 months.

The DE was thoroughly screened, then thoroughly rinsed, before the trees went in. I live in Louisiana on the edge of zones 9a/9b; this substrate has experienced MAYBE one night below 32F. We get a lot of rain and the humidity is roughly 120% for eight months of the year.

Here’s what the bottoms of those containers and trees looked like today.

Some of that could be dust that I failed to wash out… but I think at least some of it is DE particles that have broken down.

Data for your consideration. :slight_smile:

(I have this suspicion that @BillsBayou might have additional data or insight.)

1 Like

What type of DE were you using? I’ve been using it (Oil Dry) for a few years and haven’t experienced that kind of breakdown in any of my trees, including ones wintered outside here in Colorado.

Mine is NAPA Part 8822. I can’t help but wonder if DE is resistant to cold but not to some combination of heat/relentless moisture.

You can get slightly larger particles with the product from Grainger. It’s on my to-do list. I have it, but I ain’t got nuttin in it.

These are going into grow bags? What soil are you using in the grow bags?

A 2-3 year stint in grow bags in raised beds. Grow bags are roughly 50/50 pumice/organic (pine bark mulch and Black Kow).

Question about your prep in washing and sifting. Did you sift > wash > sift > wash over and over and over again? I have found that I need to do that until the water runs clear, otherwise you’ll get tons of dust still there. I got that suggestion from somewhere on da interwebs, but I’m not sure where.

Yes I did. I thought I was being Excessive. :confused:

1 Like

I have never worked with DE.
After you wash your DE, do you let it fully dry out before using? Does it become soft?