Chinese Elm in Pacific Northwest

Hi,
I’m a beginner and a neighbor gave me a little Chinese Elm today. I don’t anything about the care of this tree except what I learned through today’s online searches. My question is, is it OK to grow it outside here in Edmonds, Washington (just north of Seattle) throughout the year? We often get some fog in the morning (even today July 12) and some snow in the winter.

So far I’ve learned that

• it likes water everyday
  • to fertilize it with a balanced fertilizer until late summer
  • to give it full sun except during the hot summer months when filtered sun is preferred
  • it can be grown inside or outside
  • it doesn’t like systemic pesticides

Please correct me if any of the above is wrong.
Thanks!

1 Like

I’m in Seattle, and elms do great here. They are both sun and shade tolerant. I left mine out for most of the winter, except a few days when it dropped in to the 20’s (moved in to a greenhouse). In the winters I put most of my trees on to the gravel, and last year I experimented with covering the pots with dried leaves/pine needles to help insulate. I think it worked pretty well, and left space in the greenhouse for more delicate plants. Since it has been hotter, and sunnier this year, I noticed that a couple of my elms have a little red tinge to the leaves.

They grow vigorously and respond well to directional pruning. I usually partially defoliate a couple times per growing season.

Good luck, sounds like you’re on the right track!

2 Likes

Thanks, David, for your info. I’m much encouraged!

I have a covered deck where I can shelter my CE when the coldest winter temps occur. Last winter the deck got 4-5 inches of snow so I’ll make sure to take steps to protect the tree if that happens again.

Also, thanks for the heads up on the red tinge on the leaves. Mine has that, too, and I wondered if it was a fungus or bugs or what.